Skip Navigation

 Housing Facilities

In November of 1958, an announcement came from Albany that a new permanent state university was to be established in Stony Brook; a university which would ultimately replace the State University of L.I. located in Oyster Bay.  This new university, now known as Stony Brook University, was to be built in three phases with the architects Voorhees, Walker, Smith, Smith, and Haines of N.Y.C. selected for the first phase. Phase I comprised the construction of the Humanities, Science, and Chemistry buildings, as well as several dorm buildings, including a dorm to house 300 men and 150 women with its own dining hall. Phase II would add the Physics and Biology buildings, as well as a library, a gym, and additional dorms. Finally, Phase III would include the Engineering Quad, and several more dorms.

Login to Edit